Monday, October 13, 2008

Salman Rushdie wins Booker of Bookers

Salman Rushdie has won the Booker of Bookers again for his 1981 masterpiece Midnight's Children.

He had this to say: "how astonished my younger self writing Midnight's Children in the late-1970s would have been about this. It was written with such hope but not with the expectation that this book would still be interesting and relevant to people who were not even born when it was written."

The shortlist contained the following titles:

Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee (1999)
Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey (1988)
The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer (1974)
The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell (1973)
The Ghost Road by Pat Barker (1995)

No comments: